Howitt’s Animals, 1811 [Part 2]

Last week I showed you some images from “Howitt’s Animals,” a two-volume presentation set of etchings by Samuel Howitt (1765-1822). We did a brief article on these volumes in the Fall 2014 NSLM Newsletter, but I wanted to show off more of the images than we had space for in print. Without further ado, let’s get to the pretty pictures!

IMG_6377
I find it very easy to see the influence of the country on Howitt. He often chooses images that would be passed over by the mere sportsman, such as a mother tending to her pups.
IMG_6378
The stealthy approach? Maybe one of our readers who is more familiar with wing shooting and dogs can tell me more about what’s depicted here.
IMG_6381
Howitt’s animals sometimes have very large eyes, which strikes my modern eye as cartoonish. The detail, however, is quite fine in the antlers.
IMG_6382
I admit, this one makes me chuckle. If that horse on the right isn’t a parody of somebody that Howitt knew, I’ll eat my hat! Those horses are flat-out gossiping.
IMG_6383
An impressive depiction of a hare. Whenever I show this volume, people like to stop on this page and look for a few minutes.
IMG_6384
Growing up in the country, Howitt likely spent a good deal of time around cows. His trees always seem to twist and turn, too. Many of these images have excited branches stretching out into smaller branches close to the ground.
IMG_6385
This is my favorite. These sheep really stand out to me. Maybe it’s the realistic detail in the horns, the ears, the eyes.
IMG_6386
I love it! It merits a closer look.
1 Comment

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

